Simple Dark Lip Make-Up Look & Beauty Tips

The past days have been very productive but also quite hectic. I finally took up the project of writing a book on process design and optimization. This was something I wanted to do for a long time and I finally took the decision to make it happen this year. So, I feel like I have somehow not pamper myself enough. I started missing my make up, my blog and my aerobics sessions. I needed to take a break and spend some time doing all of my favourite things that I have left behind a little.

First thing I did yesterday was this dark lip look.

BeFunky Collage

I basically tried this out to see if I would actually use it for a friend’s birthday night out in town. I think it looks really good and i’ll probably go with it. I wanted a vamp look but not a smoky eye as the weather in Athens is way too hot and somehow I don’t really feel good wearing heavy make up and eye shadow. So, instead I used a dark purple lipstick and a simple winged eye look with a little metallic gold eye shadow to give some mystery yet keep light.

Main objectives:

  • Dark, perfectly lined lips
  • Clear and sharp wing line

I believe this look is perfect for any woman that wants do go a bit dark but not too much to be considered a goth(especially if she naturally has really fair skin). I prefer to darken the lips instead of the eyes when it comes to creating a evening look. Others feel like a smoky eye is more appropriate. In my opinion though, a heavy eye make up can cause a lot of problems in case something unexpected happens. For example, if for some reason you happen to cry(out of sadness or joy, why not) then, the whole looks gets destroyed, without having even the chance or ability to save it in the bathroom a tiny bit. On the other hand, when the eye look is light and the lips are bold and dark, even when your lipstick gets a little smudged or wears off, you can always reapply and have your make up as perfect as it was. Bear in mind though that a dark lip is usually better suited for individuals with full lips rather than those with really thin lips. I personally feel that those with thin lips should better put more emphasis on their eye make up and keep the lips in nude colors.

So, without further ado, here are the steps to recreate this look:

#1 Skin Prep:

Always start your routine by cleaning your skin with a scrub. I personally use theKORRES Wild Rose Exfoliating Cleanser and the apply my CC cream by Bioten, which I mention in one of my previous posts.

#2 Foundation and Concealer:

As I’ve mentioned before, I currently use the Maybelline New York Super Stay 24Hr Makeup which is a foundation a really love as it gives a smooth, mat finish and also can be bought at a reasonable price. As for concealer, I used my Radiant Creamy Concealer by NARS in the colour Vanilla.

#3 Eyes:

Prime your eyelids using the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. I cannot stress how important it is to prime your eyelids as that layer of primer you apply helps greatly in applying easily your eye shadow(especially when you use powdery and not creamy eye shadow) and makes all the colour pop. Next, I used the metallic gold eye shadow by Andriana Karembeu that I showed you guys in this post. Just a bit of that, not too much. You just want a sparkle, yet the look should remain dark.

Lastly, you apply your eye liner. There are many ways to apply your eyeliner, but let me give you my first tip on how I apply it and why I think my way makes it easier.

Beauty Tip 101: When applying eyeliner, first make a line from the outer corner of your eye towards the end of your eyebrow and stop somewhere in the middle. Then take the end point of the line you just drew and connect it with your upper lash line keeping this connecting line really straight. Then all you have to do basically is to fill the inside of the “triangle” you created and also line the upper lash line till the inner corner of your eye.

Connect the upper lash line with the lower lash line using some black or dark brown eye pencil. Start with a thick line from the outer corner of your eye and then as you move to the inner corner, make the liner thinner and thinner.

Finish the look with mascara or false lashes. Remember, the look has to have clean yet dramatic eyes, so you can be extra with your lashes. If you have naturally thick, long and curly lashes like mine, then you are good.

P5061724.JPG

#4 Lips:

The moment you’ve all been waiting for…<3

Use any colour you like as long as it is dark. I went with a purple/burgundy shade that I really feel like it makes me a vamp and finish your look. Other shades that I would recommend are: brown, black, dark purple, olive etc. Don’t be surprised by what I just wrote. The result will be very classy and just a tad edgy. The lipstick I used it by Seventeen,No213.

Beauty Tip 101: When you are using a dark colour lipstick, make sure that your lips are lined perfectly. First use a lip liner, one or two shades lighter than the lipstick you are about to use. apply the lipstick and in case you find the corners of your lips or your cupid’s bow a little hard to do, use a lip brush. Take the product with a few strokes and apply on your lips.

BeFunky Collage.jpg

I really hope you recreate this look! Please let me know what you think of this look in the comments below and send me your versions of this look if you like via social media(Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest, Facebook and Twitter)

Until next time, stay precious little diamonds xox!

 

 

Leave a Reply

