Lipsticks and Glosses on a Budget

Today was a sunny, beautiful day and I decided to go binge shopping for some lipsticks and glosses. In fact, I’ve been thinking of doing this for quite some time know but I was seriously procrastinating as I had some work to do for the University. Anyways, I did go  to the city centre and before starting my shopping spree, I stopped at my favourite café to grab a latte and a cinnamon roll. It was delicious!

Next stop Sephora<3 I am not very enthusiastic about spending a fortune on cosmetics. I believe the high end brands really do exploit people and sell their products in unreasonably high prices. The funny thing is though that people don’t seem to realize that and continue buying really expensive lipsticks, mascaras etc when they could buy products of quality in half the price. Well, the reason why high end brands do this and actually prosper is because:

  1. People pay the brand. There are some people who actually think that famous brand≈quality. Nothing could be  more far from the truth. Take the KylieCosmetics for example. There has been a plethora of complains about the lipstick formulas, the applicators and packaging. Does the Kylie Jenner name equals quality in this case? I don’t think so.
  2. People actually pay for the package. Let’s take a CC cream for example. So, instead of paying for the amount of product in the jar, people pay for the material the jar is made of, the design on the jar  and many other  features and for some reason think that it’s ok. I think it’s obvious that once the product is finished, the container will be thrown to the trash along with all the money people spent on it. That doesn’t seem like a good deal to me.
  3. Shipping costs. Most cosmetic companies (Channel, Dior, Lancôme, YSL etc) have their factories in EU countries like UK, France and of course a large portion of the annually produced cosmetics takes place in the US. So, all around the world, the franchises are equipped with all these products from the factories in these countries. So, when someone in Iceland buys a Lancôme product, has to pay the shipping cost from UK(for example) to Iceland.

So, in my cosmetics shopping, I decided to buy some low-budget but high quality lipsticks and glosses that do the job perfectly. In this post, I will show you my spring 2017 choices for glosses, liquid lipsticks and lipsticks(no mat effect).

BeFunky Collage.jpg

  • Glosses

I am a big fan of glosses. The first time I used lip gloss I was 14 or 15 years old and since then I’ve beem hooked. I love the texture, the smell and the colours of course. In the picture you see the glosses in their bottles and the swatches starting from the bottom and going up.

BeFunky Collage.jpgThe first and second colour is by Korres cosmetics, which is a Greek, organic and cruelty free company. The first colour with the golden hue is the golden brown No 37 and the other one is the light pink No11. I really love both colours but I must admit that the golden brown is my favourite one. It is more sheer on the lips and the colour is very elegant and rich. The light pink is more subtle, yet very moisturizing and gives a very youthful and innocent looking lip effect.

The last gloss has two colours on each side. The stick has one name and number, shimmering pink No 500, and is basically a pink-perly gloss with it’s darker pinkish counterpart. I think both of them look gorgeous and I actually use the lighter gloss before I go to bed, sleep with it and the next day when I remove it I have the softest lips ever. That’s a tip I personaly use because normally my lips are quite chapped and it really has helped my a lot.

  • Liquid Lipsticks

BeFunky Collage

I actually bought two liquid lipsticks. The first is by Seventeen which has two sides, one is the liquid lipstick that dries mat (No90) and the other is a sheer glossy coat you can put on top to give a shinny, moist lip effect. The second is by a brand named GRICI and is a beautiful nude colour (No 03). I fell in love with the nudie as soon as I saw it. I am a big fan of pastel and nudes and I believe that one nude lipstick is never enough! Personally, I don’t really use the Max Factor liquid lipstick as much as I use the GRICI as I find it too bold for me, especially in the morning. However, I use both frequently and both are long-stay and dry mat.

  • Lipsticks

BeFunky Collage.jpg

I had to be some regular ones as well. The all-time classics. So, I actually bought two from Seventeen and one from Korres. Starting from the left to right, the first shade is the beautiful pinkish colour which is No118 and the one next to it is a rich mauve/maroon, No203. I love a dark lip. I find that a real femme fatale has to have voluptuous, dark and plump lips to seduce. It is actually one of the few dark colours I have, as I find that for everyday looks the dark lip is not that easy to pull off. The last colour is by Korres and it’s name is orange red No52. I figured that a bright red is a must for the spring-summer season.

I really cant wait to use them in one of my looks and show you the result.

I hope you liked them and give some of them a try! Please let me know in the comments below, what is your favourite lip colour, or if you are a man, what is the lip colour you prefer on your significant other!

Until next time, stay precious little diamonds xox!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Lipsticks and Glosses on a Budget

Leave a Reply

